Skip to Content Skip to Search

Dr. Ms. Amina Salihu

Non-Executive Director

Ms. Amina Salihu

Dr Salihu is Senior Program Officer with the MacArthur Foundation Africa Office. A consultant, farmer and Muslim feminist, Dr Salihu is a social entrepreneur facilitating ideas and opportunities for agro-enterprise, voice and advocacy for women, young people, persons with disabilities, and their communities, especially in Northern Nigeria. She is technical designer and advisor to the EU RoLAC programme on the design of a web-based sexual offender register for Nigeria. Amina is a member of the Governing Council of Ekiti State University (EKSU). Dr Salihu is Coordinator of the Ministry of Finance Technical Working Group on gender, employment and disability inclusion for the Nigeria Agenda 2050 policy development process. 
Dr Salihu was a lecturer at Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Program Coordinator at the Centre for Democracy and Development, Senior Special Assistant to the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, and Coordinator, DFID / UKAid’s Coalitions for Change (C4C) Programme. She has written widely and has been a consultant on gender and policy to numerous government and development partner and civil society organisations, including INEC, Ministries of Women Affairs, Finance and Budget & Planning; DFID, United Nations, European Union; Action Aid International and FEMNET.  She was a gender technical team member for the Nigeria Vision 20 2020 policy development process and for the review of the Nigeria Gender Policy, 2006. Amina Salihu is immediate past Chair of the Kaduna State Rehabilitation Board for Persons with Disabilities, and is honorary adviser to numerous government, private sector and civil society organisations on gender and policy. She was pioneer co-Chair of the Board of Directors, and technical designer of the Nigerian Women’s Trust Fund.
Dr Salihu received her B.Sc. and M.Sc in Political Science from Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, and PhD from the University of Abuja. Dr Salihu spent time at the Aspen Institute, the Universities of Cape Town, Sussex and Liverpool.